The Jobber Blogger #122 – TNA: IMPACT WRESTLING – 27/8/14

Jobber Blogger logo2

Well it’s 8:30pm, Sunday the 31st of August, and I’m knackered.

It’s my second day off after my lovely 10 day stint at work, and I think it’s just finally hit me.

Having a nice nap during the day seems to have made things all the worse! But, here we are!

Quick shout out goes to the Cage Amateurs UK team of Jon and Dan, not only for posting up my ramblings for as long as they have, but just for them being awesome guys and sending me a free t-shirt!

Yes, a picture might follow! Just not right now!

blueline

TNA talk time, and it’s quite easy to say that TNA is Getting Wild!!! No, don’t get ahead of yourselves, it’s only getting wild because they’ve been offered a TV Deal by the Discovery Channel, not a bad idea, linking EY’s Off the Hook show with TNA. However the budget they will give TNA will drastically change their product, so it’s a last resort I believe.

Apparently Netflix forked out some ridiculous fee for the rights to some TV show I forgot the name of. That’s a pretty damn good budget. I still think the Online Streaming Market is a good market to get into. I suppose you can say that the WWE Network is under performing. Though I would bet the vast majority of their audience and TNA’s have Netflix, or a product similar. Put it on there, worldwide, no pesky TV limitations, try Live shows? Small extra charge for a PPV, and put out the show at the same time, World Wide. Awesome idea!

I’m sure there’s a lot more to it than that and I have no idea about anything.

Impact Wrestling Logo

 

blueline

 

TNA: IMPACT WRESTLING – 27/8/14

Kurt kicked off the show by standing up in the crowd of the New York fans. Maybe too close to the fans… especially this guy

kurt fan love

I did find it funny that the show went all “Wrestling” quickly, and I mean that in terms of being a typical Wrestling talking match, rather than actually Wrestling.

MVP, Lashley and King hit the ring and poor Kurt just stood next to those fans for quite some time saying nothing…. doing nothing. It’s like they forgot he was there. And also how I used to feel when standing near people. End up sort of in a group, just standing there… too embarrassed to walk away, then people I didn’t know would turn up, people I did know left… and I was just stuck, standing near people I didn’t know, starring at them whilst they talked about crap I had no interest in. Ahh, to be shy again.

Waste of my frickin’ time!

Thankfully MVP was back on form at actually being good on the mic, then for no reason, At All, Tommy Dreamer got involved.

Tommy Dreamer, who has no relevance to this situation was put in this situation. My god! I’ve never noticed how much of a whiney git Dreamer is. Has it always been his “thing” to be a suck up?

Why does he need to get involved in everything and tell people how good they are? How much better they can be. I don’t remember him doing this before?

dreamer love

Dreamer who took it upon himself to tell Fortune some years ago how good they all were, then got his ass kicked. He recently came out to tell Dixie how lovely she is, and got hit in the nuts. Now he’s come out to tell MVP, King and Lashley at how far they’ve fallen, to once again get his ass kicked.

Isn’t he supposed to be a talk from the heart in an edgy kind of way. This is just pathetic. Also hilarious. If it’s meant to be serious, then it’s a terrible characteristic. However, having Dreamer tell everyone how lovely they are and he getting beaten up for it, I’m down with that.

blueline

Lashley vs. Dreamer – Street Fight

So here’s the problem, and it’s called Lashley vs. Dreamer.

Dreamer has always been the guy who looks like he least belongs in a ring. That’s not to say he can’t wrestle or perform. He just doesn’t look like a Wrestler. He looks like a crew guy who got caught up in something.

Whereas Lashley is arguably the most well built Professional Wrestler going.

I supposed that’s the dynamic of this particular booking.

Lashley took a few good shots from the weapons, but he kept it a Wrestling match and that is how he defeated Dreamer and thankfully it wasn’t too much of a struggle for him.

See they’re building Lashley well now, making him the Destroyer, a true Wrestler, who can’t be beat. Aside from the fact he’s won two of his toughest matches because they made an error, rather than his superiority, that’s the only downside.

 

blueline

So the new Knockout – Havok is making her debut next week. Not sure if everyone knew it was a Knockout yet?

Either way, looking forward to it, she looks like a Female Bane….. I’m judging that purely on the mask, no idea what she actually looks like. (Just to cover my tracks on what could have been an insult!) Yay!

Lei'D Bane

 

 

 

 

blueline

Gunner was hanging out in his Room with Samuel Shaw. Yup, it gets weirder believe it or not.

This was one of those strange to place Wrestling backstage segments again. Because it’s meant to look like a “scene” yet it’s Wrestling, which is based in reality, so there is obviously a Camera Man in the room.

It’s a weird mix, top it off with some bad acting, and well, it’s Wrestling I guess?

Shaw pretended to be drawing, then decided to wear Gunner’s military jacket and salute him.

I’m guessing we’re supposed to see that either Shaw IS crazy, or he’s developing a kind of affection for Gunner.

If this thing turned into a Gay storyline, I think it would catch people off guard. I’d find it funny, so why not. Can’t be any worse than Claire Lynch.

blueline

Madison Rayne vs. Taryn Terrell – #1 Number Contenders – Knockouts Championship

Whilst on the topic of the Knockouts, it appears that Velvet might be distancing herself from TNA. Bully’s contract is now up, so he’s effectively left the company, though he will be at Bound for Glory for the Hall of Fame.

I’m still hopeful Bully isn’t done with TNA. But this apparent relationship between Bully and Velvet, one would imagine that her distancing herself could also be in part due to his departure.

See, this wasn’t a bad match. Taryn is good, she’s good at the more unusual things you wouldn’t see a Knockout doing. The crazy things.

But she’s not that technically good either, though miles better than Velvet… but that’s another story.

I’m easily more of a Madison fan, but whatever, there’s still something about Taryn that just doesn’t seem to “click” as a full package.

What was interesting was Madison’s attempt at cheating, putting her feet on the Ropes. Maybe they think there aren’t enough Heel Knockouts, perhaps they think Madison works better as a heel?

I’m open to her being in the Beautiful People again, hopefully Velvet does stick around, if she goes I don’t think Angelina would be far behind her. That would suck.

But hey, let’s stay on topic, Taryn won. Now she’s off to face Gail Kim for the Knockouts Championship, and guess what, she shouldn’t win.

But she might…

blueline

Homicide, DJ Z, Manik vs. Tigre Uno, Crazy Steve and Low Ki

Random but awesome 6-man X-Division Tag.

Interesting pairing between all of these guys too, given that DJ Z is the only real Heel.

Again, the latter part of Low Ki’s entrance was the only one Televised, so quite obvious who is getting put over.

Uno took his time to shine once more, and he is just excellent! Hopefully he will be put in a match again soon, where he isn’t just “there” to fill in the gaps. Uno vs. Low Ki, I’d like to see that.

Awesome, Fast Paced, Excellent match! Low Ki, picked up the win.

 

blueline

Bobby Roode and Eric Young had one of those “Respect Talks” to each other for their match next week to determine the Number One Contender.

I love how this was played off as a big deal, and struggle to decide the correct action. Despite this was the most obvious course of action, with a Triple Threat not being out of the question either.

Sure, EY and Roode have a history, but it’s not like a really well documented on screen Friendship, aside from their time in Team Canada all of those years ago.

Don’t think they really need to let them telling each other how much they like one another, but it didn’t not work either. Them getting fired up about tearing the Roof Down next week seemed to get a big pop, and no doubt nice Video Footage.

Here’s the thing though, and it gets sticky.

Eric Young defeated Bobby Roode twice, yup, TWICE! To retain the World Championship.

And EY has never been able to defeat Bobby Lashley, at all, or even get close.

Yet Roode seems like the most legit guy to challenge Lashley, and he’s being billed as that. But on paper, Roode couldn’t beat EY, so therefore Roode shouldn’t be able to beat Lashley (as far as logic goes). And EY has been defeated by Lashley so many times, that he’s not going to stand a chance.

So what’s the point? Unless they do swing a Triple Threat. Either way, I’d like Lashley to keep the belt. I’ve wanted Storm on top for some time now, and I’m into this idea of him forming a Revolution, he’d be a good figure head. So my perfect idea, is Lashley remains dominant, till the onslaught of Storm and his Revolution. Heel on Heel.

I like that idea.

blueline

Ethan Carter the Third vs. Rhino

Remember that guy I made fun of in the crowd a few weeks back? No… well up yours!

shyguy

^ This guy. Yup, even TNA are mocking him now, gave him some more screen time and Taz and Tenay burst out laughing at the poor guy. I found it funny.

creepy fan 2

Something else I found rather funny, was when Tenay and Taz were talking about Dixie’s interview from last week, Taz making some comment about how Mike should have asked her something. Tenay responded saying it must have got edited out, to which Taz brilliantly replied “I thought they didn’t edit anything on this show”. Who knows if that was scripted, but Impact is so badly and poorly edited at times, that I enjoyed this comment.

I also liked how Taz and Tenay had to tell Rhino’s story during this match to try and make you think he’s the good guy. His alliance with EC3 and Dixie was only about money, and they were never friends.

Yup, you want people to be against EC3 and on Rhino’s side, well apart from the fact Rhino has some history people will latch onto, Rhino does look like an idiot in all of this.

So yeah, I routed for EC3, and much to my enjoyment he got himself a Chair and beat the high holy hell out of Rhino with it. To the point where Spud told him to Calm Down.

I enjoyed this, it makes me like EC3, and I’m against Rhino throughout this crappy storyline, so I enjoyed that more.

blueline

The Great Sanada vs. Austin Aries

Storm came out to introduce Sanada, talk about his Revolution and that Sanada is the “first of many”. So I am liking the idea. Again, Storm being on a losing streak doesn’t exactly make him a good mentor.

Sanada debuted his new look, which is also The Great Muta’s old look. Not very original of Storm really.

I did quite like it though. What I appreciated more is that Sanada is supposed to be the one put over, but he didn’t bury Aries.

Aries was as legit as ever, but Sanada was playing dirty and Storm was getting involved, so I’m cool with Aries taking the fall.

I particularly liked Sanada’s counter to the Brain Buster by Biting Aries’ hand. “Biting” is obviously used a fair bit in Wrestling, but to have Sanada with his arms out, Aries’ hand in mouth, as he pulled himself out of the hold. Nice touch.

In the end though Storm shook the ropes to make Aries fall from the top, Sanada sprayed the mist in his face then finished him off with a Superkick for the win.

I look forward to where this goes, and in a lot of ways this felt like old wrestling. Having a manager out there, debuting his new talent, trying to put him over. I don’t know why, but the appearance helped too, I liked it. I look forward to where this leads and hope Storm actually brings more people into this revolution.

blueline

Chris Malendez had his Debut, least in appearance.

It’s a weird one. I get why he’s impressive, I get why it’s an amazing thing to achieve, I get why he’s respected. I just don’t see longevity in his career.

I honestly feel TNA’s signing of an “American Hero” is more for publicity than anything else. I liked the story of Anderson putting him in touch with Bully and Devon. But then Bully and Devon were called the “best trainers” and I think Rob Terry came from their school, either way Jesse Neal did, and he sucked.

Not to mention he was in the Marines, Navy? I don’t think he got free training.

I don’t mean this to sound harsh, but the idea of a one legged Wrestler doesn’t interest me, if anything I find it off putting. It is fantastic to be able to get where he is, but there will always be a limit of what he can do, always.

Zack Gowen is obviously the comparison, and I hated him. It bugs me to this day that his only win, ONLY WIN, was against Matt Hardy. That should never have happened. EVER!

 

blueline

Team 3D vs. The Hardyz vs. The Wolves – Match 1

Honestly, I put no notes. Well, I wrote down that Team 3D won, and that the match was awesome.

This is what I will say, this match was fantastic! We knew it would be.

There isn’t anything I can really say to do it justice, just watch it.

However, as good as this match was, I didn’t put it forward for a Match of the Year Nomination.

Now, why didn’t I do that?

Two reasons, number one, this match though special, isn’t as special as the first two matches between Hardyz and the Wolves, and Hardyz vs. Team 3D.

Number two, and this is the main reason, this was Match Number 1, these are going to get crazy good, I know it. So this won’t be the best, and the best, will be the best, and then that will be put forward I’m sure.

I love Tag-Team Wrestling!

 

blueline

Good show, no more major news regarding TNA currently, Manik has re-signed, so that’s good.

Till next time!

 

Dan Wilkinson

www.facebook.com/TotalNonstopRewind

www.TheJobberBlogger.wordpress.com

www.TheSteelChair.com

www.StrikeTapandGrapple.com

TNR Cover 12 (w facebook address)

Leave a Reply

